About Kuumba

About Kuumba

The Flemish-African house Kuumba, in the heart of Matongé, is a place where African cultures and Flemish culture come together for exchange, dialogue and entertainment. Our operation is supported and led by our volunteers, almost all of whom are of African origin, who we give the possibilities and opportunities to develop their projects.

In collaboration with our volunteers and other organisations, we offer a range of activities: language lessons, dance and persuasion workshops, concerts, poetry evenings and jam sessions, film, debate, guided tours in the neighbourhood and exhibition moments.

Kuumba' means 'creativity', and by this we mean the energy and creativity that bubbles up when cultures and communities meet and strengthen each other.

Not only our Flemish-African identity, but also the experience and expertise of our volunteers ensure that Kuumba is alive.  We have the task and the opportunity to be a link between the African community and the Flemish community. By offering accessible activities and the knowledge of our volunteers, we want to promote the diversity of Brussels and Flanders not only in Belgium but also internationally. On the other hand, we also want to be a springboard for Belgian-African talent to the regular Dutch-speaking cultural landscape.

More info

Mission and Vision

 
More info

A propos

A propos

La maison flamande-africaine Kuumba, au cœur de Matongé, est le lieu où les cultures africaines et la culture flamande se rencontrent pour échanger, dialoguer et se divertir. Notre opération est soutenue et dirigée par nos bénévoles, presque tous d'origine africaine, à qui nous donnons les possibilités et les occasions de développer leurs projets.

En collaboration avec nos bénévoles et d'autres organisations, nous proposons un éventail d'activités : cours de langue, ateliers de danse et de persuasion, concerts, soirées poétiques et jam-sessions, films, débats, visites guidées dans le quartier et moments d'exposition.

Kuumba" signifie "créativité", et nous entendons par là l'énergie et la créativité qui jaillissent lorsque les cultures et les communautés se rencontrent et se renforcent mutuellement.

En plus de notre identité flamande-africaine, l'expérience et l'expertise de nos volontaires assurent la vie de Kuumba.  Nous avons la tâche et l'opportunité d'être un lien entre la communauté africaine et la communauté flamande. En offrant des activités accessibles et les connaissances de nos bénévoles, nous voulons promouvoir la diversité de Bruxelles et de la Flandre, non seulement en Belgique mais aussi à l'échelle internationale. D'autre part, nous voulons également être un tremplin pour les talents africain-belges dans le paysage culturel néerlandais régulier.

Plus d'info ...